Hawke Cup

The Hawke Cup is the major competition for New Zealand Cricket's District Associations.

The competition is split into four regional Zones. Within each zone, a full round robin is played, games contested over two days. Each Zone’s regional winner then gets a three-day Hawke Cup Challenge against the current holders. To win the Hawke Cup, challengers must beat the holders on their home ground, either outright or on the first innings.

The coveted Hawke Cup has been contested for more than century

Southland was the original holder of the Hawke Cup when it was first presented in the early 20th Century.

Hamilton entered the 2019/2020 season as the most recent holder, and will host the opening Zone 1 challenge from 31 January 2020, against Bay of Plenty.

More information on the Hawke Cup and the four regional zones

Competition Centre

View points tables and statistics

District Association Contact Information

For more information about the Hawke Cup tournament in your region, get in touch with your District Association.

View previous winners

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks Dulux KFC
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Export Powerade TAB