Southern Volts Jacob Duffy | PHOTOSPORT

Volts win at last


Otago Volts defeated Canterbury by 62 runs with a day to spare

Queen's Park, Invercargill

1-3 March 2020


Bonus Points: Otago Volts 6, Canterbury 4

Total points this round: Otago Volts 18, Canterbury 4

This season's introduction of a new style of Kookaburra, with an extra layer of lacquer and cross-stitching, will be trialled for rounds five and six only, with the final two rounds to be played with the usual ball.


Queen's Park, Invercargill proved a happy hunting ground for the Otago Volts who sealed their first win of the first-class season with more than a day to spare thanks to some Rae-zor sharp bowling.

Rapidly improving their white-ball game, but with first-class wins still few and far between, the victory was one to savour for captain Jacob Duffy, in his Southland home territory.

Beating Canterbury by 62 runs with an ocean of time to spare, the win also pushed the Volts into interim fourth on the table (pending the result of the ND-Aces match in Auckland) after the Volts dismissed their southern neighbours for 240 in the last session of the third day.

Pace duo Duffy (4-46) and Michael Rae (4-75) had a strong influence over proceedings, Rae flinging himself into an all-out assault and having had Canterbury number four Ken McClure - coming off a big hundred in the previous game - caught on a gutting 98 as the visitors began to feel the pressure of lost wickets - losing five men for just 30 runs.

The Volts kept attacking as Canterbury tried to cling on, havnig been in a position to snatch the outright themselves if they could just keep going. The finishing tape proved too far despite a gutsy 38 from number 10 Andrew Hazeldine.

Excited by that winning feeling, the Volts now head back to Dunedin to host the Central Stags who will be stinging from their concurrent loss to the Firebirds and looking to bounce back against a side they've traditionally dominated in recent years. The Volts will have alternate plans: the question now, can Duffy's men back up?


Midway through their southern rumble with Canterbury, the Otago Volts had a chance of chalking up their first outright win of the season after having rolled their visitors for just 145 in 58.1 overs.

Cam Fletcher's 32 was Canterbury's modest top score after wickets tumbled in swift succession, captain Duffy and Rae picking up one-day-style figures of 3-30 and 3-33 respectively - and consistent Michael Rippon's brace keeping the doughty duo Jack Boyle and Leo Carter in check.

They were key wickets in a tough round, yet by stumps the game had moved right along.

No fewer than 16 wickets would fall in one day and the Volts were seven down in their second innings for an overnight overall lead of 284.

Rippon, with the Volts' meagre top score of 21*, and Duffy (17*) would resume on the third morning looking to hang around long enough to be able to set some terms, with two days' play in hand.


Earlier this summer, Nathan Smith and Michael Rippon set a new Otago Volts first-class record for the seventh wicket with a 190-stand against ND in Dunedin.

Today they joined forces again for a 142-stand against Canterbury in Invercargill to dig their side out of a ditch at 96 for six — and this after captain Jacob Duffy had elected to bat.

Smith departed at 238 for seven, both men top-scoring with 78 after Canterbury’s strikemen Matt Henry (4-88) and Fraser Sheat (3-50) had helped get their hosts in a large spot of bother: six down by lunchtime.

Canterbury reached 20/1 in reply by the end of the day, Chad Bowes regretting shouldering ams to Duffy just before stumps with the Volts’ first-innings lead 267 heading into tomorrow’s day two at Queen’s Park.

Competition Winner: Wellington Firebirds

1 Wellington Firebirds 6 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 15 20 83 5.34
2 Central Stags 6 2 3 1 0 0 0 0 10 23 57 0.24
3 Otago Volts 6 2 1 2 0 1 0 0 9 18 55 -5.75
4 Auckland Aces 6 2 1 2 0 1 0 0 10 16 54 5.21
5 Canterbury 6 1 3 2 0 0 0 0 13 20 45 -3.75
6 Northern Districts 6 1 3 2 0 0 0 0 14 16 42 -1.48

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Net Runs Per Wicket (NRPW - RPW For minus RPW Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 12, Lost - 0, Draw - 0, Tied - 6, Abandoned - 4
One Innings Match Won (OIMW - match won that started with 10 hours or less playing time remaining) - 6, One Innings Match Tie (OIMT) - 3
Batting Points (Bat) - First Innings only up to 110 overs - first point at 200 runs, second point at 250 runs, third point at 300 runs, fourth point at 350 runs
Bowling Points (Bowl) - First Innings only up to 110 overs - first point at 3 wickets, second point at 5 wickets, third point at 7 wickets, fourth point at 9 wickets

Most Runs

1Devon Conway701
2Henry Cooper499
3Gregory Hay454
4Joseph Carter452
5Mark Chapman432
6Dane Cleaver423
7Bradley Schmulian418
8Rachin Ravindra414
9Michael Rippon364
10Nathan Smith332

Most Wickets

1=Jacob Duffy22
1=Neil Wagner22
3Willem Ludick21
4Logan van Beek19
5=Blair Tickner18
5=Fraser Sheat18
7=Louis Delport17
7=Matthew Henry17
7=William Williams17
10=James Baker16

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB