A stunning maiden century | PHOTOSPORT

Maiden McFadyen ton a Dunner stunner



University of Otago Oval | 23 February 2020


Wellington Blaze bowed out of the 2019/20 Hallyburton Johnstone Shield in style with a 131-win over the Otago Sparks that included a ground-breaking century to Jess McFadyen - the opening bat in sublime touch with an unbeaten 153* off just 130 balls to set up Blaze's weighty total of 329 for five.

It was McFadyen's maiden List A century - previous best 63; and, the highest score by any Blaze opening batsman - propelling her side to their second highest ever one-day total. The whopping score was just 10 runs short of the capital team's record 339 for nine set at Karori Park in 2015/16 against Northern Spirit.

Blaze have been rebuilding their side and headed into the business end of the season minus a raft of WHITE FERNS on international duty.

Captain Dee Doughty had won the toss, hungry for the team to finish the one-day summer on a strong note and electing to set the struggling Sparks a chase.

Despite a brave partnership between Sparks captain Bella James (60) and Caitlin Blakely (an unbeaten career best 75) that reached 135 for the second wicket, the chase was a tough ask for the young Sparks who would end their one-day season winless after nine losses and a washout.

• While Wellington Blaze exit the 2019/20 Hallyburton Johnstone Shield after this last round, it will not be the end of the season for the side who will meet the Central Hinds in a one-off, free admission 40 Not Out T20 at Palmerston North's Fitzherbert Park on 28 March 2020 to mark the Hinds' 40th anniversary season.

Competition Winner: Auckland Hearts

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Northern Spirit 10 8 1 0 1 0 3 37 0.84
2 Auckland Hearts 10 6 3 0 1 0 3 29 0.44
3 Canterbury Magicians 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.25
4 Central Hinds 10 4 4 0 1 1 3 23 0.30
5 Wellington Blaze 10 3 5 0 1 1 3 19 0.13
6 Otago Sparks 10 0 9 0 0 1 0 2 -2.11

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Most Runs

1C Gurrey576
2F Mackay569
3F Leydon-Davis421
4J McFadyen400
5=Jess Watkin385
5=N Dodd385
7K Perkins329
8N Cox286
9A Kelly273
10L Down261

Most Wickets

1B Armstrong24
2E Richardson22
3=F Mackay13
3=S Asmussen13
5=A Peterson11
5=H Rowe11
5=K Anderson11
8=E Black10
8=G Sullivan10
8=J Savage10

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB