Leon Marconi's century was the highlight for ND

Marconi century sets up ND win

NZC National Men’s Under-17 Tournament


Northern Districts Under-17 beat Central Districts Under-17 by 22 runs

One-day match
Bert Sutcliffe Oval
8 January 2020


A Leon Marconi century at five was the highlight for ND after Northern won the toss and batted against their provincial neighbours.

CD had made a good start with the ball, however, Regan Fleming (2-46) and Ronan Restieaux (2-48) combining to have ND 42 for three early doors.

Cory Dickson (54 off 81) and Marconi launched the fightback with a 100-stand for the fourth wicket, Marconi going on to string together another two useful stands of 50 and 45 for the subsequent wickets.

After seeing his side to the 200 mark, he reached his century off 99 balls, in just under two hours at the crease with his knock including nine boundaries and a six.

It took until the 48th over for CD to see the back of him, Toby Findlay (2-14) picking up a late brace as ND put a tally of 266 for seven on the tins.

Payton Spencer then got ND off to a good start with the ball, picking up two early wickets to have CD 35/2 inside the first 10 with both opening batsmen caught behind.

James Rawnsley (30) rebuilt with captain Curtis Heaphy, the pair putting on 57 for the third wicket before Dickson prised them apart bang on the halfway mark at 92 for three.

Heaphy, fresh off a century on the previous day, looked on course to back up as he batted his way into the 80s, lifting the tempo with support from new partner Baylee Foote (46 off 45).

But a key runout off Spencer's arm in the 45th over ended their 92-run stand as well as Heaphy's knock, on 83.

Now CD unravelled, losing their last four wickets in the last five overs in the scramble to get up, including two further runouts. ND sealed their win with five balls to spare, CD having needed 23 further runs.

Tournament Winner: Canterbury Under 17s

Played Won Lost Drawn Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points
1 Canterbury Under 17s 5 3 1 1 0 0 0 3 17
2 Northern Districts Under 17s 5 3 1 1 0 0 0 1 13
3 Wellington Under 17s 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 12
4 Otago Under 17s 5 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 10
5 Central Districts Under 17s 5 2 2 1 0 0 0 1 9
6 Auckland Under 17s 5 0 5 0 0 0 0 0 0

Order in the table determined by: 1. Total Points

Most Runs

1Kalhun Challu335
2Curtis Heaphy332
3Alex Wilton306
4J Cumming291
5X Chisholm263
6K Price258
7James Rawnsley251
8M McMillan234
9M Boyle221
10=J Parker220

Most Wickets

1Toby Hart12
2F Hurley11
3J Frew10
4Josh Fairbrother9
5=B Russell8
5=K Weerasundara8
5=L Marconi8
8=Elliott Seddon7
8=J Cumming7
8=M Boyle7

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB