CD moved up to second spot | Image: C Findlay

CD leapfrogs Otago on table

NZC National Men’s Under-17 Tournament


Central Districts Under-17 beat Otago Under-17 by 6 wickets

One-day match
Lincoln Number 3
10 January 2020


Central Districts overtook Otago at Nationals with a well controlled six-wicket victory, moving on up into second on the table in the process.

The day had started well for Otago captain Jacob Cumming as he won the toss and batted, but he would be an early casualty for his side who then continued to struggle to build an imposing partnership.

Otago had lost its top three by the 17th over at 73 for three, but number four Jacob Gilbert dug in for more than an hour and a half to anchor his side with a watchful 64.

Unfortunately for Gilbert, CD continued to chip out wickets regularly - including his own in the 34th over, Josh Fairbrother taking the catch off Ronan Restieaux (2-33) to have Otago 140 for six.

Fairbrother couldn't stay out of the action, producing a runout in the next over and taking 3-21 to boot in his seven overs with the ball.

Wrapping up the Otago innings with seven overs to spare, he had helped restrict Otago to 162, and got to put his feet up for the rest of the afternoon as CD cruised home, despite having lost both openers early.

Otago's Toby Hart had struck in each of his first two overs to have Central 14 for two, but from there captain Curtis Heaphy and James Rawnsley took charge with a 102-stand for the third wicket.

Both batsmen reached half centuries, CD going on to win in just 32.5 overs.

Tournament Winner: Canterbury Under 17s

Played Won Lost Drawn Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points
1 Canterbury Under 17s 5 3 1 1 0 0 0 3 17
2 Northern Districts Under 17s 5 3 1 1 0 0 0 1 13
3 Wellington Under 17s 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 12
4 Otago Under 17s 5 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 10
5 Central Districts Under 17s 5 2 2 1 0 0 0 1 9
6 Auckland Under 17s 5 0 5 0 0 0 0 0 0

Order in the table determined by: 1. Total Points

Most Runs

1Kalhun Challu335
2Curtis Heaphy332
3Alex Wilton306
4J Cumming291
5X Chisholm263
6K Price258
7James Rawnsley251
8M McMillan234
9M Boyle221
10=J Parker220

Most Wickets

1Toby Hart12
2F Hurley11
3J Frew10
4Josh Fairbrother9
5=B Russell8
5=K Weerasundara8
5=L Marconi8
8=Elliott Seddon7
8=J Cumming7
8=M Boyle7

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB