First win for Canterbury at Nationals

First win for Canterbury U17

NZC National Men’s Under-17 Tournament


Canterbury Under-17 beat ND Under-17 by 59 runs

One-day match
Lincoln Green
7 January 2020


Canterbury U17 chalked up their first win at Nationals with a good win over ND as the one-day phase kicked off in fine, sunny conditions at Lincoln.

Captain Matt Boyle elected to bat but was an early loss as Shiv Achary struck in the seventh over.

Kalhun Challu continued his solid form, however, with a knock of 89 off 100 balls to anchor Canterbury towards a good total of 290 for seven.

The opener batted through until the 39th over, top-scoring again with support from Ollie Curtis (33), Mitch McMillan (57) and Tom Flavell (37) down the order.

Curtis was in the action early during the reply, running out ND opener Nathan Condon in just the third over but Wilton kicked on to 48 before he was trapped by Boyle at 85 for two.

Captain Jacob Parker and Niven Dovey combined in the pivotal stand for ND, compiling 93 together for the third wicket.

But when Max Hamilton had Dovey caught on 59, it set off the clatter of three quick wickets - with Parker also heading back to the tent when Curtis (2-25) stopped him on 67, the score now 216 for six with fewer than eight overs in hand to get up.

Canterbury kept the heat on, dismissing ND early in the 46th over to seal their 59-run win.

Tournament Winner: Canterbury Under 17s

Played Won Lost Drawn Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points
1 Canterbury Under 17s 5 3 1 1 0 0 0 3 17
2 Northern Districts Under 17s 5 3 1 1 0 0 0 1 13
3 Wellington Under 17s 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 12
4 Otago Under 17s 5 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 10
5 Central Districts Under 17s 5 2 2 1 0 0 0 1 9
6 Auckland Under 17s 5 0 5 0 0 0 0 0 0

Order in the table determined by: 1. Total Points

Most Runs

1Kalhun Challu335
2Curtis Heaphy332
3Alex Wilton306
4J Cumming291
5X Chisholm263
6K Price258
7James Rawnsley251
8M McMillan234
9M Boyle221
10=J Parker220

Most Wickets

1Toby Hart12
2F Hurley11
3J Frew10
4Josh Fairbrother9
5=B Russell8
5=K Weerasundara8
5=L Marconi8
8=Elliott Seddon7
8=J Cumming7
8=M Boyle7

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB