The red and blacks roll on

Canterbury extends lead at Nationals

NZC National Men’s Under-17 Tournament


Canterbury Under-17 beat Auckland Under-17 by 8 wickets

One-day match
Lincoln Green
10 January 2020


Canterbury U17 extended its lead at the top of the points ladder with a third one-day win on the trot.

Auckland elected to bat first, but washed up on the low side of a defendable total on the boutique ground after having been dimissed for 184 with almost 10 overs unutilised.

Number four batsman Brodie Harrison's run-a-ball 77 stood out like a beacon as Canterbury ripped through the rest of the line-up, Jordy Frew (3-38) and Reuben Stoffers (3-12) taking care of the middle and lower order while Cam Paul picked up a brace after helping get the Aucklanders three down in just the 13th over.

Harrison batted into the 39th over in a gallant attempt to get his side to a defendable total, but Canterbury would barely raise a sweat as they chased down their target with a whopping 26.1 overs to spare.

Canterbury opener Matt Boyle just dipped out on a half century after he had raced to 47 off just 37 balls, including seven boundaries and two sixes.

He had shared a 100-run stand for the first wicket with partner Kalhun Challu who continued his good form with an unbeaten 77* off just 65 balls.

Elias Falanitule picked up both wickets in the chase, but against an offensive attack with the bat it was a fruitless cause. Canterbury's Mackenzie Smith was unbeaten on 31* when Challu hit the winning runs.

Tournament Winner: Canterbury Under 17s

Played Won Lost Drawn Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points
1 Canterbury Under 17s 5 3 1 1 0 0 0 3 17
2 Northern Districts Under 17s 5 3 1 1 0 0 0 1 13
3 Wellington Under 17s 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 12
4 Otago Under 17s 5 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 10
5 Central Districts Under 17s 5 2 2 1 0 0 0 1 9
6 Auckland Under 17s 5 0 5 0 0 0 0 0 0

Order in the table determined by: 1. Total Points

Most Runs

1Kalhun Challu335
2Curtis Heaphy332
3Alex Wilton306
4J Cumming291
5X Chisholm263
6K Price258
7James Rawnsley251
8M McMillan234
9M Boyle221
10=J Parker220

Most Wickets

1Toby Hart12
2F Hurley11
3J Frew10
4Josh Fairbrother9
5=B Russell8
5=K Weerasundara8
5=L Marconi8
8=Elliott Seddon7
8=J Cumming7
8=M Boyle7

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB