A Munro show, again | MBUTCHER

Munro show as Aces crack 400


Canterbury lost to Auckland Aces by 184 runs

Hagley Oval, Christchurch

29 November 2019


Points on this round: Aces 5, Canterbury 0

* Umpire Kim Cotton stood in a Ford Trophy match for the first time

• Yet another bonus point and yet another powerhouse top order century for the Aces in this summer's competition as they snatch The Ford Trophy lead back from Canterbury

View this post on Instagram

EMPHATIC! Describe this performance in one word 👇 #MyTeamAuckland #FordTrophy

A post shared by Auckland Cricket (@aucklandcricket) on

Colin Munro's eighth List A century was the rocket fuel behind the Auckland Aces highest ever Ford Trophy total - the first time they had joined the 400-club in the long history of the national one-day competition.

Continuing a week of powerhouse centuries from the Aces' top order, Munro blasted 167 off just 94 balls (with 22 boundaries and seven sixes) - his second Ford Trophy century in the space of five days after a similarly ballistic effort in Lincoln on Monday.

His hundred today flying off just 57 pills, supporting half centuries from Glenn Phillips (66), Mark Chapman (70 off just 44) and Robbie O'Donnell (52 off 44), helped by an explosive 27 from Sean Solia at the death, kept the scorers busy and ensured a massive total of 401/8 went up on the board against Canterbury in the pivotal top-of-the-table clash.

Today's Auckland Aces total sits fifth equal in the highest Ford Trophy tallies, as follows:
417/6 Central Stags v Northern Districts at Seddon Park, 2012/13
410/5 Canterbury v Otago Volts at Aorangi Oval, Timaru 2009/10
405/6 Central Stags v Canterbury at Aorangi Oval, Timaru 2014/15
405/6 Central Stags v Canterbury at Pukekura Park, 2015/16
405 Central Stags v Canterbury at Pukekura Park, 2014/15
401/8 Central Stags v Northern Districts at Pukekura Park, 2016/17
401/8 Auckland Aces v Canterbury at Hagley Oval, 2019/20

It was a bat-first day all round in the last of the centralised rounds in Canterbury and the Aces had certainly recovered quickly from a big opening blow: the loss of Martin Guptill who was bowled early doors by Canterbury quick Ed Nuttall.

Munro brought up his first 50 runs off just 29 balls, with his second six.

Putting on 231 with Glenn Phillips, the pair would set a new second-wicket partnership record for matches between the Aces and Canterbury (previously it stood at 156, set by Paul Hitchcock and Richard Jones in 2006/07), continuing a busy record-busting week from the Aces top three.

As he closed in on his 150, Munro also reached his 4000th List A run en route to becoming the season's top run-scorer with his innings today and, remarkably, the side had now witnessed five centuries in the space of a week, two of those in the 150+ department in consecutive games.

Needless to say Canterbury faced a daunting chase in the quest to hang on to the top rung of the ladder against the Aces chasers breathing down their neck.

The hosts got their first hundred runs on the board inside the first 17 overs, but they were also already four down - having just lost captain Cole McConchie.

In-form opener Justin Boyle was still there with a half century, but he had lost all his top order mates with still more than 300 required.

Will Somerville then quickly added Todd Astle to McConchie in his wickets column to have the hosts a perilous five down in the 19th, the Aces sniffing a bonus point.

By the 25-over mark they were six down with Boyle falling caught to Somerville (4-48) after a gutsy 82-ball 92.

Cameron Fletcher came in and provided a quick 27 before becoming Somerville's fourth, Canterbury now 185/7 in the 31st over.

Andrew Ellis and Henry Shipley were left needing 12 an over, and despite Ellis' undefeated 26* the end was nigh as Kyle Jamieson and Ben Lister zeroed in on the tail to wrap up a bonus point win with 13.2 overs in hand.

The Aces were back on top of the table.

Competition Winner: Auckland Aces

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Auckland Aces 10 6 4 0 0 0 4 28 0.46
2 Canterbury 10 5 4 0 1 0 3 25 0.08
3 Otago Volts 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.21
4 Northern Districts 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.00
5 Wellington Firebirds 10 5 5 0 0 0 1 21 0.01
6 Central Stags 10 2 7 0 1 0 0 10 -0.84

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Elimination Final - Otago Volts won by 6 runs

Most Runs

1Devon Conway553
2Colin Munro492
3John Boyle491
4Neil Broom471
5Chad Bowes428
6Henry Cooper417
7Dean Foxcroft406
8Robert O'Donnell401
9Nicholas Kelly374
10George Worker371

Most Wickets

1Benjamin Lister23
2Jacob Duffy21
3Andrew Ellis18
4=Michael Rippon16
4=Seth Rance16
6=Anurag Verma15
6=Nathan Smith15
8=Andrew Hazeldine14
8=Iain McPeake14
10Ollie Newton13

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB