Devon Conway at it again | PHOTOSPORT

Welcome back to Queenstown!


Otago Volts lost to Wellington Firebirds by 5 wickets

John Davies Oval, Queenstown

21 November 2019


The Wellington Firebirds have sprung back from a first-up loss to early leaders the Auckland Aces with a well controlled five-wicket win over hosts the Otago Volts as List A domestic cricket returned to Queenstown for the first time since 2015.

Volts skipper Jacob Duffy elected to bat but his side’s 229 for five wasn’t enough to threaten the visitors who chased it down with four and a half overs in hand — consistent force Devon Conway top-scoring with 79.

After an early wicket in the first over of the chase for Volts paceman Blair Soper on his Ford Trophy debut, Conway presided over the batting crease for the next 32 overs, sharing stands of 95 with Rachin Ravindra for the second wicket and 73 with Jimmy Neesham for the fourth.

Twenty-year-old Ravindra produced a half century on Ford Trophy debut - having played his first five List S matches for New Zealand A last season.

Shortly after spinning allrounder Dean Foxcroft had managed to put a stop to another Conway century already this summer, Neesham’s departure in the 37th over saw the Firebirds still needing 40 further runs for the win.

However, allrounders Malcolm Nofal and Jamie Gibson saw the job through with plenty of time to spare.

Earlier, revitalised opener Nick Kelly had backed up his first-innings century for the Volts by knuckling down with a patient 65 in two hours. After his removal in the 32nd over, however, the Firebirds made regular breakthroughs.

From a platform of 138 for two, the Volts struggled through to 229 for nine as the visitors regained the ascendancy at John Davies Oval.

The win saw the Firebirds join the Volts on four points in the top half of the table pending the final result in round three, before Canterbury pushed ahead of them with a bonus point win under lights up north in Hamilton.

Competition Winner: Auckland Aces

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Auckland Aces 10 6 4 0 0 0 4 28 0.46
2 Canterbury 10 5 4 0 1 0 3 25 0.08
3 Otago Volts 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.21
4 Northern Districts 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.00
5 Wellington Firebirds 10 5 5 0 0 0 1 21 0.01
6 Central Stags 10 2 7 0 1 0 0 10 -0.84

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Elimination Final - Otago Volts won by 6 runs

Most Runs

1Devon Conway553
2Colin Munro492
3John Boyle491
4Neil Broom471
5Chad Bowes428
6Henry Cooper417
7Dean Foxcroft406
8Robert O'Donnell401
9Nicholas Kelly374
10George Worker371

Most Wickets

1Benjamin Lister23
2Jacob Duffy21
3Andrew Ellis18
4=Michael Rippon16
4=Seth Rance16
6=Anurag Verma15
6=Nathan Smith15
8=Andrew Hazeldine14
8=Iain McPeake14
10Ollie Newton13

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB