Nick Kelly smote a career best ton | PHOTOSPORT

Kelly ton ruins ex-team's big night


Northern Districts lost to Otago Volts by 28 runs (Duckworth Lewis Stern method)

Seddon Park, Hamilton (day/night)

17 November 2019

Visiting southerners ruined a free admission Seddon Park party under lights for hosts Northern Districts - and the chief agent was one of their former colleagues.
In the first List A domestic day/night match in 10 years at the ground - the last havng been ND v Canterbury in December 2009, Nick Kelly produced a career best century, belting 120 off 139 balls on his Otago Volts Ford Trophy debut, against his former team.
Opening the innings, it was Kelly's third List A century in his overall career, and just the start that the Volts had needed after having been sent in by ND.
Kelly was supported by a half ton down the order from Josh Finnie as they reached 282 in their 50 overs.
Henry Cooper replied with a career best 75 off 83 for the hosts.
However, the combined bowling talents of Michael Rippon and Nathan Smith stopped the northerners from getting away before rain brought a premature conclusion to the innings, the result ultimately decided on DLS.
It was 20-year-old NZ U19 rep Katene Clarke's debut (all formats) for Northern Districts, following in the footsteps of older brother Tamati Clarke who also represented NZ U19 and ND in Ford Trophy cricket.

Competition Winner: Auckland Aces

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Auckland Aces 10 6 4 0 0 0 4 28 0.46
2 Canterbury 10 5 4 0 1 0 3 25 0.08
3 Otago Volts 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.21
4 Northern Districts 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.00
5 Wellington Firebirds 10 5 5 0 0 0 1 21 0.01
6 Central Stags 10 2 7 0 1 0 0 10 -0.84

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Elimination Final - Otago Volts won by 6 runs

Most Runs

1Devon Conway553
2Colin Munro492
3John Boyle491
4Neil Broom471
5Chad Bowes428
6Henry Cooper417
7Dean Foxcroft406
8Robert O'Donnell401
9Nicholas Kelly374
10George Worker371

Most Wickets

1Benjamin Lister23
2Jacob Duffy21
3Andrew Ellis18
4=Michael Rippon16
4=Seth Rance16
6=Anurag Verma15
6=Nathan Smith15
8=Andrew Hazeldine14
8=Iain McPeake14
10Ollie Newton13

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB