NZC National Women’s Under 19 Tournament - Final Day

NZC National Women’s Under 19 Tournament


Monday 23 December 2019

It all came down to the last morning of T20s. Could Central Districts hold onto their slender lead, or would Auckland or Canterbury sneak past?

Canterbury won their last match against Wellington U19, but it was already too late for the hosts with CD smashing their way to a quick win over Auckland, with almost a quarter of their innings to spare, to seal the inaugural 2019/20 title.


Bert Sutcliffe Oval

Toss: Auckland


Despite winning the toss and batting first, Auckland found themselves on the back foot after having been restricted to 106 for five in their 20 overs.

CD's Ocean Bartlett then came out and smashed a 35-ball fifty, carrying her bat for an unbeaten 54* in a clinical win for Central.

Margot Scoular's run-a-ball 25 and an unbeaten 25* from Saffron Wilson provided Bartlett with the support as CD put the icing on their week and a half's work - in which CD had dropped just one game - with 5.4 overs to spare.


Lincoln No.3

Toss: Canterbury


Canterbury had not only needed a win, they had needed CD to lose in order to reclaim the lead and win the tournament.

Despite a good 13-run win over Wellington in their final game, it was out of their control across the hedge.

Canterbury won the toss and batted, reaching 98 for five in their 20 overs, helped by Georgia Edge's quick unbeaten 31* at six.

Xara Jetly had picked up 2-19 for Wellington and Rachel Bryant 2-13 off her four, but Canterbury proved able to defend their low total thanks to a fierce team effort with the ball that saw Wellington rolled for 85 with 11 balls to spare.


Lincoln Green

Toss: Otago


Otago batted after winning the toss, reaching a score of 120 for five thanks to a top score of 44 from both opener Olivia Gain, off just 40 deliveries, and fellow young Otago Spark Eden Carson at first drop.

Emma Baker and Makayla Templeton each picked up a brace for ND who then overcame the early loss of both Lucy Boucher and Templeton to reach 63 for three, after a 57-run stand for the third wicket between Holly Topp and Georgina Harris.

Annie Ewart's top score of 34 off 29 balls ended when she was run out at the death, but ND was on track and managed to seal a thrilling three-wicket win with a ball to spare to finish the tournament on an exciting note.

Tournament Winner: Central Districts Women Under 19s

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points
1 Central Districts Women Under 19s 7 5 1 0 1 0 1 20
2 Canterbury Women Under 19s 7 4 2 0 1 0 2 19
3 Northern Districts Women Under 19s 7 4 2 0 1 0 0 15
4 Auckland Women Under 19s 7 3 3 0 1 0 1 14
5 Wellington Women Under 19s 7 2 4 0 1 0 0 9
6 Otago Women Under 19s 7 0 6 0 1 0 0 2

Order in the table determined by: 1. Total Points

Most Runs

1Lucy Boucher221
2Harriet Graham209
3Holly Topp196
4Bethany Molony171
5Georgia Plimmer162
6Melissa Banks150
7Gemma Adams149
8O Bartlett146
9=J Waghorn137
9=Olivia Gain137

Most Wickets

1Emma Baker14
2Makayla Templeton12
3Xara Jetly11
4=Georgina Harris10
4=S Wilson10
4=Tatiana Gibbs10
7Bethany Molony9
8=Amie Hucker7
8=Bhagya Herath7
8=L Stead7

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB