No one-day joy at Cobham




• Cobham Oval | Whangarei


An ND victory in the final Ford Trophy round not only bumped out defending champions the Wellington Firebirds, it saw ND miss out to boot.

Having headed into the clutch last round second on a tight table, with a one-point advantage on the pack, the Firebirds had needed only to win their last round to go through to the last three.

But Northern had other plans, in what would also become their last white-ball game of the summer.

Joe Walker | MBUTCHER

Winning the toss and batting in warm conditions, Anton Devcich led the opening assault with 76 at the top before BJ Watling added a half century of his own to ensured ND had a total on the big ground.

That was despite a five-wicket bag for Iain McPeake who netted a handy 5-40 as ND went through their 50 overs to 249 for nine.

Without BLACKCAPS Hamish Bennett, Jimmy Neesham and Tom Blundell, it just wasn't the Firebirds' day as they stumbled at the last hurdle.

Captain Michael Bracewell (38) and allrounder Jamie Gibson (32) got starts but wickets to the ND spin attack meant the pressure mounted, the Firebirds dismissed for a flat 167 inside 43 overs to hand ND a sizeable victory.

Meanwhile, Canterbury beat the Stags to overtake the Firebirds for second spot while the Volts produced a thumping record victory over the Auckland Aces in Dunedin which proved just enough to edge ND out of the top three qualifying spots, on a marginal difference in net run rate countback after having finished level on points, number of wins and number of bonus points.

Joe Walker finished strong with 3-25 to end his white ball season on a good note, but it was a tough pill to swallow for both sides as they exited together in Whangarei.

Competition Winner: Auckland Aces

Played Won Lost Tied No Result Abandoned Bonus Points Total Points Net Run Rate
1 Auckland Aces 10 6 4 0 0 0 4 28 0.46
2 Canterbury 10 5 4 0 1 0 3 25 0.08
3 Otago Volts 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.21
4 Northern Districts 10 5 4 0 0 1 2 24 0.00
5 Wellington Firebirds 10 5 5 0 0 0 1 21 0.01
6 Central Stags 10 2 7 0 1 0 0 10 -0.84

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR - NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won - 4, Lost - 0, Tied - 2, No Result - 2, Abandoned - 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents') - 1

Elimination Final - Otago Volts won by 6 runs

Most Runs

1Devon Conway553
2Colin Munro492
3John Boyle491
4Neil Broom471
5Chad Bowes428
6Henry Cooper417
7Dean Foxcroft406
8Robert O'Donnell401
9Nicholas Kelly374
10George Worker371

Most Wickets

1Benjamin Lister23
2Jacob Duffy21
3Andrew Ellis18
4=Michael Rippon16
4=Seth Rance16
6=Anurag Verma15
6=Nathan Smith15
8=Andrew Hazeldine14
8=Iain McPeake14
10Ollie Newton13

With Thanks To

Sky Sport Pitch ANZ Ford Mediaworks
Accor Hotels CCC Dream11 Dynasty Gillette GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Monteiths Powerade TAB